Date-Filled Cookies (My All-time Favorite Cookie)

(My mother-in-law makes these every Christmas.)

2 eggs, beaten

2 cups brown sugar

1 cup shortening

1/3 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

3.5 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Mix shortening, sugar, eggs, & vanilla. Stir in buttermilk. Mix flour, salt, soda, and cinnamon & stir into mixture. Drop from tsp onto ungreased cookie sheet. Place a small amount of filling on dough. Cover with a small amount of dough. Bake 9-11 minutes at 400.

Filling:

3 cups dates, chopped

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

Mix together and cook slowly until thickened. Remove from heat.

4 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Cookies, Dessert

4 responses to “Date-Filled Cookies (My All-time Favorite Cookie)

  1. My mom loves dates.. I will definitely try this recipe for her..

  2. Pingback: Creamy Chocolate Marble Fudge | And sometimes I cook.

  3. LuAnn Bermeo

    Hi,
    I’m really excited to try your cookie recipe, but I’m wondering if you could narrow down the amount of flour needed. 3 – 5 cups seems like a pretty large range! Thank you.
    LuAnn

Leave a Reply

