Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

This is the way I always cook a chicken before using it in chicken pot pie.  I also cook it just for eating, since J loves it so much. My mother-in-law gave this to me from All Recipes, submitted by ‘Cotton’ Couch.

2-3 lb whole chicken

1 tsp paprika

s & p

1. Wad 3 pieces of foil into 3-4″ balls and place them in the bottom of the slow cooker.

2. Rinse chicken, inside & out, under cold running water. Pat dry with paper towels. Season the chicken with the salt, pepper and paprika, and place in the slow cooker on top of the foil balls.

3. Set the slow cooker to high for 1 hour, then turn it down to low for about 8-10 hours, or until the chicken is no longer pink and the juices run clear.

*Weird confession: I hate handling whole chickens like this because they remind me of babies. (I like babies, though. I just don’t like crossing babies with crockpots.)

3 Comments

Filed under Basic Cooking, Chicken, Crockpot, Healthy, J's favorite, No oven necessary.

3 responses to “Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

  1. stephanie w

    your weird confession reminded me of my weird confession:
    when i was preparing my thanksgiving turkey, i looked at it with such care and gratefulness for it’s sacrificed life. i patted it dry so tenderly. i did not intend to look at my turkey with such love… :o)

  2. Stephanie: LOL! Makes me think of this Simpson’s episode: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvkpOCMo7hc

  3. Pingback: Warm Asian Salad | And sometimes I cook.

Leave a Reply

